Tips for Your Tiger Week 7

taylorMeet Taylor Bourne from New Orleans, Louisiana. She is a junior and will be serving as the Parent Orientation Leader for the College of Agriculture this summer. She is majoring in Sports Administration with a minor in Business. Taylor is involved in LSU Ambassadors, LSU Move-In-Day, Geaux Big and works at the LSU Ticket Office. Her favorite place on campus is the Greek Theatre.

To all of the wonderful parents and families, I understand that college is an adjustment for everyone involved and not just your student. Knowing that they are going away to experience things on their own without you is most definitely a tough pill to swallow. On the bright side, this will make your student realize that the real world is coming soon. I am sometimes very dependent on my parents for things that I should know how to do or handle. Mainly, I knew that they would always be there for me no matter how confident they were in me. It is a learning process for my parents and myself that I have to grow up and handle adult responsibilities. Now that I am about to be a junior, I make it a point to handle as much as I can on my own. I realize that the “real world” is getting closer and I want to be as prepared as possible.

Some advice that I would give parents and families on dealing with adjusting is time. Everything takes time. Do not expect for your student to be smooth sailing right when they start college. They may not have the best grade and they may not make any friends, but in the end, that’s ok. With time, your student will make those great grades and have a great group of friends. Again, this takes a lot of adjusting. High school is very different from college and it is an eye opener to students who are used to doing things one way. College is definitely a place where CHANGE comes into play. On a personal note, I HATED change. I was honestly scared of change because I liked things the way they were (so I thought). But recently, a lot has changed for me and I would not have it any other way. My parents are very supportive, but they have learned to not do everything for me. They let me experience things on my own without butting in, which I truly appreciate. Sometimes I want them to butt in but like I referenced in the beginning, the real world is coming and will not allow your parents to butt in no matter how much they want to (LOL). Lastly, to any parents who participated in evening activities and heard about my struggle bus, IT IS REAL! Thank you all for being such great support systems to your students and I cant wait to see them this fall!

Leave a comment