Tips For Your Tiger Week 8

2_zpskbjvgamfMeet Nicole Dominique from Thibodaux, Louisiana. She is a junior and will be serving as the Parent Orientation Leader for the College of Science and the School of the Coast and Environment this summer. She is currently pursuing a dual-degree in Microbiology and English Literature with the intentions of applying to medical school in the coming year. At LSU, She is involved with LSU Ambassadors, Alpha Epsilon Delta, Gamma Beta Phi and Honors College Advocates. Nicole also researches in a microbiology lab on campus in Life Sciences and works as a content tutor for the Academic Center for Student Athletes. Her favorite location on campus is Middleton Library because of the different floors with varying noise levels, the great views of campus and the CC’s that can be found on the first floor.

Well, it’s official! Fee bills have been sent out (and are due August 6th!), and your student is going to college. At this point, you and your families are probably enjoying the last weeks of your summer, or your student may even be attending a post-orientation program such as S.T.R.I.P.E.S. Regardless, this is a time to embrace. nikkiAfter all, you only get so many first’s (like my first day of school), and beginning college is a big transition for anyone. While change always brings with it worry and anxiety, the transition to college really is a time for personal growth and fun, and I promise, it’s exciting!

Coming into LSU from a small town, I was anxious about the adjustment, but at the same time, I knew that LSU would have so many opportunities for me, even if I didn’t quite know what that entailed yet. But, in retrospect, I can tell you that I was able to take 40 credit hours, join 3 on-campus organizations (an amount that was contested then, has increased since, and remains to be contested by my mom), develop several friendships, make innumerable memories, begin volunteering for a national crisis intervention hotline, learn the layout of campus, work my first real job, acquire the ability not to wince when drinking coffee, and study abroad in the United Kingdom all during my freshman year.UK

Despite that, my mother still dedicatedly called me at 4 p.m. every day during the school year, and I drove back home about every other weekend. With that, I was able to balance college life and still spend time with my family. So, college, in no way, is a goodbye.

My best advice to you is to enjoy this time. It’s going to go faster than you think, and before you know it, you’re going to be sitting through your student’s graduation ceremony. As cliché as that is, as a rising junior, which is still really frightening to say, I have seen how quickly college passes. So, enjoy this time by staying calm and planning for what you can. You will ultimately forget something, especially if you’re like me and you forget to bring a pillow both your freshman and sophomore years to the residence hall, but that’s no big deal. You craft a make-shift pillow out of a blanket or borrow one and make it through the night until you get your proper pillow. That may just be me, but anyway, life happens. You may experience your own figurative forgotten pillow, but make the best out of it (and then use it for later blogs-again, maybe just me)! But, the point is that it really is near impossible to do everything perfectly. We have the resources there for you such as residence hall packing lists, which are mailed to you and which needed a second look by me, so again, plan for what you can. But, it will all be alright if things don’t go perfectly as planned.

So, what are you still doing here? We have 26 days until the Fall semester begins, so make sure you pay your fee bill, but go out and enjoy the summer and your time with your student! And like always…

GEAUX TIGERS!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

