Tips For Your Tiger Week 9

BPMeet Brandon Power from Mandeville, Louisiana. He is a junior and will be serving as the Parent Orientation Leader for the College of Engineering. He is majoring in Industrial Engineering. Brandon is involved in LSU Ambassadors, Engineering Ambassadors, Institute of Industrial Engineers and the Sophomore Gold Program. His favorite place on campus is the Parade Ground.

When I looked at universities to attend, LSU was not my immediate choice. This was because of the same fear many students face when searching for colleges: the size of the student body. When I heard 30,000 students attended LSU, I was intimidated to say the least. I wanted to attend a school where people would know my face, professors would know my name, and I could run into my friends just by walking to class. Ultimately, it was my decision of where I would attend college. My family knew I was torn, and they continued to throw facts at me about how good of a school LSU is. BP flagThis made me reconsider attending LSU, however, this did not ease my fear of attending a school with 30,000 students. When it came time to make the final decision, my parents sat me down and said to me, “We want you to be happy with your choice and enjoy your college experience. If you do not enjoy your first choice, we will help you transfer schools.” In that moment, something inside of me told me to choose LSU, and looking back, I now know that this was the best decision I have ever made.

If you’re wondering how I went from being intimidated by LSU to being a die-hard tiger fan, it only took one step: GET INVOLVED! My entire college experience was shaped by those two words. Getting involved in organizations around campus has opened countless doors for me in college, as well as beyond LSU. It has made me proud of who I am today. Additionally, it made the campus feel smaller. I do not notice the size of the student body anymore. After getting involved, people know my face, professors know my name, and I run into many of my friends just by walking to class.

BP friendsAs a parent, encourage your student to get involved in multiple organizations around campus. As they get more involved, they will make more memories and have the college experience that they want. It might sound crazy at first to tell your student to take away time from studying, but getting involved actually helps students succeed. It teaches them valuable time management skills, how to interact with students and professionals, and it has been proven that students who participate in extra-curricular activities perform better in school.

LSU is a place that has everything your student is looking for. It is where I have made my greatest memories and my best friends. It is where I have found the people who will stand in my wedding and have learned what it truly means to Love Purple and Live Gold. Getting involved has made LSU more than a school to me, it is why I call LSU my home.

BP group

Leave a Reply

