Tips For Your Tiger Week 5

madiMeet Madison Lusco from Madisonville, Louisiana. She is a junior and will be serving as the Parent Orientation Leader for the College of Music & Dramatic Arts and the College of Humanities and Social Sciences this summer. She is majoring in Psychology and Sociology with a concentration in Criminology. Madison is involved with LSU Ambassadors and Dance Marathon. Her favorite place on campus is in front of the Bell Tower.

No student compares to yours!

As students, choosing a major (and consequently a career path) is one of the toughest and most important decisions we will ever make in the entirety of our lives… And we have to make it fresh out of high school at the age of eighteen.

Naturally as a parent, you may want to help in the decision.  Suggestions are great, research is also good, but support is better. Because when it all comes down to it, it is your student’s decision on what path they take. The last thing they need is to feel pressured into something they have no passion for.  Something as simple as choosing a major can determine our entire lives, so one thing to keep in mind is to narrow your focus strictly to your student and no one else.

Being the overachiever I am, I compare myself to everyone. I have a scholarship that I should be proud of, but there will always be someone out there who got more money than me. I could be really excited about working hard and getting a B on a test, but someone else could have made little effort and gotten an A. madI’m also a psychology major, so unlike an engineering or biology degree, there is no concrete career path laid out for me to choose from. Regardless of what others have done, you as the parent should take pride in the fact that your student did the best that they could do in something that they love.

It is important to remember that every student’s situation is different. Financially, academically, interests, whatever it may be, we are not the same. My tip for parents is to not compare your student to anyone else.  The only person they should be trying to compete with is themselves. Nothing is better than their best, and everyone’s “best” different. I have never felt pressured or resented by my parents for the life decisions I have made or how I have performed thus far. They trust that I can make these choices on my own and that my I will give nothing but my all, and that has made all the difference in my time at LSU.

Leave a Reply

