Tips For Your Tiger Week 4

1_zpsriyzdsdyMeet Lisa Jalilian from Denham Springs, Louisiana. She is a senior and will be serving as the Parent Oriental Leader for the University College: Center for Advising & Counseling this summer. She is majoring in Biological Sciences. Lisa is involved in LSU Ambassadors and the LSU Pre-Dental Society. Her favorite spot on campus is the LSU Campanile or as many know it, the Memorial Tower. She finds it to be iconic as well as a strong presence on campus.

Thanks to the latest Disney musical extravaganza, everyone is preaching, “let it go” as their new motto.  For all our new LSU family members, I am here to explain that this bittersweet motto is not a bad one to visit Tiger nation with.

My parents are my best friends, and were very involved in every step of my life, kindergarten through twelfth grade.  They never missed any opportunity to chaperon for an event or to add (stalk) one of my friends on Facebook. But on the first day of orientation, when my mom was informed that she and I were going to separate check-in rooms and mostly different programs, I realized that college would not be the same.

I surprised myself by worrying about my parents not being involved in my life at LSU. My mom surprised me by not displaying any of the anxiety I was feeling for the both of us, as she offered me a soft smile and a few short words before parting. FullSizeRender

I realize now, what Mom had realized in the summer of 2012; this was college, things were going to be different, and we just had to let it go.

[L]earn

There is a reason for separate orientation programs; parents and students have different roles at LSU. Orientation is a great lesson of independence and responsibility, and at the end of everyday y’all are able to share and learn from each other.

[E]ncourage

Your student may change his or her major, wish to study abroad, join a new organization, apply for a prestigious internship, etc. Encourage them to explore and make the difficult decisions on their own. Be their #1 supporter by simply believing in them.

[T]alk

Communicate with your tiger! Contact them with intentions of simply talking, not drilling them with questions about classes, budgets, health, etc. Let them control the conversation, and if you listen long enough, you will hear more than what your questions might have uncovered.

[I]nsight

While your student is making connections, I encourage you to collect contacts of your own. You never know when you will need someone to reach out to for some advise or a second opinion.

[T]ransition

People are often sensitive to unfamiliarity, making any transition difficult. Offer your student patience and determination. There is a reason LSU chose your student; they belong here and are going to do just fine!

[G]rades

They are not everything, but grades are important. Familiarize yourselves with campus resources. There are a variety of study aids, tutoring options and advising available for your student to utilize.

[O]pportunity

LSU is full of opportunities for you and your student. Embrace your separate roles and get involved.

Two years later, my parents sent a second student to college, and today, have mastered their roles as LSU Mom and Dad. I have modeled these tips specifically from the parenting that they demonstrated for my little sister and me during college. Although they cannot be there every step of the way, they remain involved in our lives and continuously offer their tremendous support.  My wish for y’all is to Love Purple and Live Gold with incredible pride and spirit alongside your tigers and to take the next three/four/five years by storm! GEAUX Parents ❤

Leave a Reply

