Finals Week. Ohhhhh Finals Week.

10485965_875397085826157_5158197220351958095_oMeet Drake Boudreaux from Lafayette, Louisiana! Drake is studying Mass Communication Digital Advertising and minoring in Business and Visual Communication. Drake is involved as a LSU Ambassador, Head Parent Orientation Leader, Student Government, and STRIPES!

I doubt any other combination of two words would evoke such a wide spread negative response.  Possibly “root canal” or “roll tide,” but who’s to say? The simple fact of the matter is a week full of tests designed to reveal students’ knowledge on a semester’s worth of information in a variety of subjects can be quite daunting. Although the amount of information may be overwhelming, our grades may have a first class ticket on the struggle bus, or no amount of coffee seems to be efficient enough to carry us in to hour 8 of studying, there are a few finals week pointers that I feel make it easier to come out on top.

Make an individualized study plan

Where do you study most efficiently? In what ways do you learn large amounts of information? What people hinder or distract you from concentrating? No one knows you better than yourself. I find it extremely important to sit down before finals week begins and layout my plan of action. I decide where I am going to study, how I am going to study, who I am going to study with, what grades I need to make on which exams, how far in advance I need to study, which exams I need to focus on, for what period of time will I study? I find it incredibly important to be honest with myself when doing this.

Utilize Resources

LSU’s campus is flooding with resources to help students. With things like the Center for Academic Success, the tutorial shell center, Middleton library, study groups, and professor’s office hours and study sessions, we as students have access to assistance. There is no shame in using these resources, especially in preparation for final exams. keep-calm-finals-week-ahead

Stay Positive

Finals week is no fun. But keeping a level head and remaining optimistic makes getting through finals week much easier. When all is said and done, I remain confident in my preparation through the entire semester and I don’t let any of my exams have power over my attitude. No matter how much time I spend studying, I try to work to a point where I can say, “I know this material as well as I can.”

Reward Yourself

On the same note as remaining positive, I find it important to recognize when I achieved my goal and reward myself for doing so. Whether you set little goals for every hour of studying, or one big one immediately following your last exam, it’s great to have something to work toward or look forward to.

When all is said and done, the key to conquering finals week is preparation. And if I’m being quite honest, most of the time the build up or anxiety surrounding finals week is actually worse than the exams themselves. As long as students maintain a level head and put in the necessary amount of effort, finals week is very doable.

Leave a Reply

