How To: GEAUX Find a Job!

UntitledMeet Morgan Decuir, a current senior at LSU majoring in Elementary Education. She loves serving her university as a member of LSU Ambassadors, and she is also one of the founding members and President of Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana (A+PEL). Throughout her years at LSU, she served as the 2014 POL for the College of Human Sciences and Education, served on the SPRINGFEST Executive Board as the Associate Chair for Events and Training, is a member of Kappa Delta Epsilon, and served on the Student Support Service’s Student Activities Board as the Communications Liaison. Morgan is more than thrilled to begin her career as a teacher in Fall 2015.

It’s the beginning of senior year and I have everything planned out: some lesson plans that can be altered for grade levels, a small portfolio that features some of my previous students’ work, and even a some-what completed resume. I thought I was prepared for it all, until the same question was asked by everyone I came to contact with, “Where do you want to teach next year?”…Wait, what? I did not even begin classes yet and I have to think about where I want to begin my teaching career? It did not hit me that I will have my very own classroom in less than 10 months! This is where I began to have slight panic attacks every other night. I told myself, “Morgan, you will have a position waiting for you before you walk across the stage at graduation.” Then I began to ask myself, “Where do I even begin?”

After a month or so of small panic attacks about my life, I received an e-mail from the LSU Olinde Career Center. This e-mail was specialized for all College of Human Sciences and Education students to give us an update of services and events that can help us for our future careers. Mine looked like this:

Untitled.png1

Each student receives their own e-mail from the LSU Olinde Career Center that is specialized for their college. Since the College of HSE encompasses many career options, students are able to take a look at other events that are occurring as well. Although I am an Elementary Education major, it didn’t hurt that I looked into the section about Careers in Student Affairs Month. I’ve thought about doing other career options in the far future with my degree in Elementary Education. However, my main focus in this e-mail was Teacher Interviewing Day.

Teacher Interviewing Day (TID) is an event where representatives from many school districts all over different states come on campus to interview aspiring teachers. Since I am a senior and I had my plan of landing a position before graduation, I made an effort to be there. From that moment, I fixed my resume to the best of my ability and uploaded it on Careers2Geaux—another amazing resource that LSU offers to all undergraduate students for free. The week before TID, I found out that I could not attend because I had to teach that day. Discouraged, I took my mind off of TID and continued to focus on lesson planning. I put off going to the LSU Olinde Career Center for assistance in perfecting my resume because I knew I wasn’t going to be able to make it to TID. But then on the Monday evening week of TID, I get an e-mail stating that I had a request to be interviewed. I was super excited! I knew that I could not turn an interview down, especially when the employer asked me.

On the day of TID, I taught my math and science lesson, and right after I zoomed to LSU to prepare. I walked in so nervous, but more excited that I was asked to be here for an interview. The interview went AMAZING and I was given the opportunity to tour the location over Winter Break and begin filling out the application for the upcoming 2015-2016 school year to have a position waiting for me—my dream was turning into a reality!

My experience with TID was possible through the LSU Olinde Career Center. Encourage your student to stop by their offices and utilize all of the resources available. From resume building, interview tips, and even renting an outfit for interview day, the LSU Olinde Career Center makes sure that your student is prepared to excel at any interview and land their perfect position. By the time your student is a senior, it will be super easy for them to geaux find a job!

Leave a Reply

