Tigers Road to Victory

Untitled

 

I am a junior biology major and football enthusiast who enjoys music, meeting new people, and the south. I am also a member of Phi Mu sorority, LSU Ambassadors, and Co-Chair of Relay For Life of LSU. 

Like many LSU students, I have been rooting for the tigers since I was just a little kid. In fact, my first word was probably “LSU.” There’s nothing quite as exciting as a Saturday night in Death Valley, or so I thought. When I found out the tigers would be playing in Houston, Texas for the opening game of the 2014 season against Wisconsin, I knew I had to take the four hour drive to cheer on my team.

It is safe to say that Baton Rouge took over Houston this weekend, as LSU fans were everywhere, clearly outnumbering Wisconsin fans. When we arrived at Reliant Stadium Saturday afternoon, the tailgating was a little different than the usual sea of purple and gold tents I’ve come to expect on Saturdays, but we made the most of it. I was so anxious; an 8:10 pm kickoff time seemed like an eternity away.10645106_10203629835499674_8537683475902582421_n

          Finally the moment I had been waiting for since December had arrived. LSU fans were in their usual high spirits and positivity as the game began. Wisconsin quickly took the lead, and continued to increase it to 24-7 at the beginning of the third quarter. All hope seemed lost. But if I have learned one thing being a tiger fan all of these years, it is to never give up on the tigers, and especially on the mad hatter, Les Miles. The comeback was one of the most thrilling experiences of my life. After the game the air was filled with chants of “Geaux Tigers” and people in red shaking their head in disbelief. My first away game was definitely one for the books and I can’t wait to experience another one.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

