Beyond the Boundaries of Campus

AndrewHall-1-2Andrew Hall is a recent graduate with a Bachelor of Science in Business and a minor in Communication. This summer Andrew served as the Head Parent Orientation Leader for our Family Orientation Program. Andrew will continue to love purple and live gold by working as a full-time recruiter for the LSU College of Engineering.

This summer I had the wonderful opportunity to go on a mission trip with my local church to Chan Chen, Belize. I always look forward to these kinds of trips because they really give you a global perspective.

When I first came to LSU in the Fall of 2010, I was blessed to be a part of an on campus ministry called Reformed University Fellowship, or RUF for short. Because of my involvement with RUF, I was able to define myself spiritually and explore the options of international missions.

I first visited Acapulco, Mexico in January 0f 2012 for a weeklong mission trip and later returned in January of 2014 to continue to serve the children and staff of Casa Hogar del Nino, which translates to “Home Sweet Home for the children”

As graduation approached, I was unsure of what my next steps would be. Not long after I returned to Baton Rouge for my final semester at LSU, I received a phone call from my mother asking me if I would be interested in attending another mission trip, but this time to Peru.IMG_7483

As the semester went on, we later found out that a trip to Peru was not in the options. After talking with Mission To the World, or MTW it was decided that we would begin planning our trip to Belize.

If I’m being completely honest, I didn’t know much about Belize. I didn’t know where it was, I didn’t know what we would be doing, and I didn’t know if they would even speak English. But what I did know (and later find out!), is that this trip was where we were supposed to be all a long.

Visiting Belize was such a special experience to share with my church family. We worked with a local church in Chan Chen building a fence, but more importantly building relationships with the people of this village. The local church in Chan Chen loved us so well, and I honestly think that they served us more than we served them. Each time I attend a trip like this, I am reminded that we are fearfully and wonderfully made.

belize team!Each person on our team has his or her own gifts and strengths, and though they are very different from the next they each serve a special purpose. Some of us worked well during the construction time, while others enjoyed playing with the children or serving in the kitchen.

As school begins to start back up, I encourage you and your student to look into the different campus ministries that LSU has to offer. If it were not for my involvement with RUF, I would have never experienced the beauty of international missions. A full list of on campus ministries can be found at: http://studentlife.lsu.edu/chaplains

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

