Family Weekend 2013: A student perspective

Image

Kat Latham is a sophomore, mass communication major from New Orleans, LA. She currently serves the university as an LSU Ambassador, a Student Government Senator, and a Freshman Leadership Council Small Group Leader.  Kat has also served as an LSU Orientation Leader and as a member of the 2012 LSU Homecoming Court. 

LSU Family Weekend could not have come at a more perfect time for me. After a busy midterm week at LSU, I could not have been more excited to spend a weekend with my family.  As my family arrived on Friday, we were eager to begin the activities and spend the weekend celebrating our tiger family.

Kat Latham Family

Starting with a delicious dinner in the LSU Student Union, I was able to show my family where I spend lots of my time. They were able to experience the daily chatter of the Tiger Lair and the fizz of a cold drink from the drink dispensers. After dinner, we gathered at the Memorial Tower to mingle with some other families and eat some dessert. It was so fun to see my little cousins running around while playing bingo. Their eyes lit up as they found people who met the different descriptions on their bingo card.

After a good night’s rest, we showed up bright and early for game day. I loved explaining to my family how campus explodes with excitement on a Saturday. With a traditional tailgate lunch on the Parade Ground, we were ready to conquer Saturday Night in Death Valley.

With a win from our tigers the night before, we woke up excited to wrap up Family Weekend at Jazz Brunch. Breakfast was the perfect way to start out the morning, and the speakers were incredible.  From a pump up speech from Nikki Caldwell to an inspirational talk from student leader Dante’ Johnson, the crowd was on their feet in awe of these two inspiring women. The day wrapped up with announcements of  door prizes, silent auction winners, and a slideshow of pictures from the event. I am excited to say I was the lucky winner of a Slap Ya Mama gift pack! Family Weekend was a great experience for my whole family and I cannot wait for next year!

Image

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

