Getting Involved with Greek Life

Taylor MossToday’s blog post was written by Taylor Moss. Taylor is  a Junior Kinesiology/Pre-Occupational Therapy major from Austin, TX. She joined a sorority her sophomore year at LSU. This summer, Taylor is serving as the Parent Orientation Leader for University College: Center for Advising and Counseling.

After my first year at LSU, I could not get enough of what the university had to offer me and I wanted to get even more involved on campus. Throughout my time in high school, I was dedicated to my dance team, which comprised of 50 of my best friends. After a year of being away from that environment, I started to realize how much I missed the “sisterhood” feel. Since I had moved 7 hours away to go to college, not many of my original friends came to LSU, so I thought becoming a member of Greek Life could help me build those friendships again.

Though I was originally seeking out friendship, going through recruitment I also fell in love with the philanthropy aspect of Greek Life. Each chapter has its own philanthropy that it raises money for throughout the year. Another service aspect is Greek Week. This is a week where LSU Greek Life partners with Habitat for Humanity to build houses for needy families in the Baton Rouge area. The LSU Greek community has raised over $1,000,000 and built 16 houses since partnering with Habitat for Humanity in 2004.

In addition to all of the wonderful relationship and service opportunities, being a member of Greek Life gives students significant opportunities for leadership roles. There is the possibility of holding a seat in your own chapter, on Greek Board of Directors, or as a chair on the council your chapter is a part of. There are also different leadership retreats, such as EMPOWER, which allow you to develop you leadership skills and grow as an individual.

Since becoming a member of Greek Life last fall, I can honestly say it has exceeded my expectations. Through the various social events such as Song Fest and Step Show, as well as just hanging out at the house, I have met some of the most amazing people and made connections that will last me the rest of my life. Knowing that I always have my sisters to fall on if I need them for anything is a sense of comfort I appreciate. My grades have even improved thanks to the study groups and resources I have gained from being a part of a sorority. Being a part of Greek life has given me the opportunity to serve the community, lead my peers, build relationships, and create a home at LSU.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

