My Journey as an LSU TIGER!

ImageMeet J’Lexius Rodriguez, a junior at LSU majoring in Biological Sciences and Sociology.She is the Logistics Chair for First Year Experience’s Tiger Transition Team.

Entering into a huge university like LSU can be a big scare. The first question I asked myself before coming to LSU was, “Out of over 10,000 students, how am I going to meet new people?” I stumbled upon S.T.R.I.P.E.S., a four-day retreat that helps first-year students transition from high school to college. After participating in this program, I have become more comfortable finding my way around campus and walking into huge auditoriums that most of my classes are held in. It definitely assured me that LSU was the right choice.

As the chapter of my freshman year came to a close, I applied to be a member of SophomoreGOLD, an organization of students of my own age whom all live in the same community. Most organizations on-campus aim only to freshmen and seniors; so, I was more than excited to sign up for this great opportunity that reached out to soon-to-be-sophomores. I have had the opportunity to meet plenty of new people who I still have close ties with from a year ago. On top of meeting new people, I’ve gotten the chance to attend several Food for Thought events, which aim to get students more involved in their community, whether it be volunteering at a hospital or school, or trying to find new internships. One of the best parts of being a member of SophomoreGOLD was the Tour of 13th Gate! Once a year, around Halloween time, over 300 students from LSU go on a trip to 13th Gate, the #1 rated haunted house! I love suspense, and I was all for taking a little time out of studying to enjoy time with my friends and also have the opportunity to connect with other students while getting a thrill!

First Year Experience (FYE) is the best perk of LSU! You get to meet new friends, learn the ins and outs about LSU, and also have many leadership opportunities. I was a mentor, a member of the Communications and Logistics Committee, and currently am the Logistics Chair for Tiger Transition Team, an organization on campus that focuses on the transition to college, and a member of the S.T.R.I.P.E.S. alumni. I am happy that I have gotten the chance to experience all that First Year Experience has to offer! It certainly has left an impact on my life as a LSU TIGER!

Image

13th Gate

Image

Tiger Transition Team Mentors

Image

S.T.R.I.P.E.S.

Leave a Reply

