Student Organizations: A Senior’s Perspective

Meet Curtis Elmore III, a graduating senior in Marketing and a future Walt Disney World Intern from La Place, LA!

As I approach graduation and reflect on my time at LSU, I realize that being involved made my college experience. With that being said, I would not have been able to do it without the complete support of my parents.

My parents encouraged me to get involved in activities completely outside of my comfort zone in hopes that it would force me to grow. With that support from home, I truly felt that I was able to conquer this campus. During my first year, I became involved in Student Government. I remember being incredibly nervous. My mom encouraged me to take a chance on my leadership. I ran on a ticket and won my election. I ended up serving 3 and half years on the LSU Senate that developed my leadership in incredible ways. I met so many friends who I still keep in contact with.

After winning this campaign, I wanted to get involved in a program that helped me transition into LSU: S.T.R.I.P.E.S. During the spring semester, I applied to be a Small Group Leader and was drafted into a world of fun, life-long memories, and development. Once again, I met amazing leaders who had the same goals as me.

By far, the best collegiate experience I had was getting involved in LSU Ambassadors. I know for a fact that I would not be the man and leader I am I today without this organization. I have had the opportunity to work Orientation, serve as the Orientation Chair, and work many other events to support the LSU and Baton Rouge community. Through LSU Ambassadors, I met my best friends.

The recurring theme in my college career is meeting people who challenged me to keep striving for the best. Encouraging students to live outside the box and get involved in student organizations will make them develop leadership and interpersonal skills. It also makes a campus of 28,000 seem like a campus of only a few hundred. GETTING INVOLVED IS THE BEST!

Leave a Reply

