Maximizing Summer Job Opportunities

Kyle serves as the Graduate Assistant in the Office of Orientation.

Meet Kyle Nixon! A native of Mississippi, Kyle graduated from The University of Southern Mississippi in 2011 with a Bachelors of Science in Psychology and is a first-year grad student in the Higher Education program at LSU.

Final projects, exams, papers and presentations – LSU students are gearing up for the end of the 2011-12 school year.

Last summer before starting as a graduate student at LSU, I had the opportunity to serve as a Congressional Intern in Washington, DC. Applying on a whim and not thinking that I actually had a shot at receiving it, I was very nervous throughout the process. However, with the support of family and friends, I stepped outside of my comfort zone, applied, and gained so much from a remarkable experience.

Serving as an intern for my local congressmen proved to be an invaluable opportunity. Not only did I learn all about the day-to-day functions of Capitol Hill, but also I gained a better appreciation for what happens in Washington and how it impacts us everyday. More importantly, I realized the value of steering away from my initial summer plans and doing something spontaneous while also learning. My experience as an intern enabled me to network with others, gain new friendships, and grow as a leader.

Without this internship, my summer would have been just like any other – but with the new challenges presented, I became more prepared to start the fall semester with a fresh outlook.

As the semester begins to wrap up, I encourage you to challenge your students to seek out opportunities that will enhance their collegiate experience. Whether that’s returning to work part-time in your hometown, serving as an intern locally or nationally, or spending 8 weeks studying abroad, it’s important for students to do something that keeps them involved and in touch while on their break.

Let us know what your students are doing this summer. Geaux Tigers!

Leave a Reply

