Family Weekend Student Committee Speaks Up!

Meet Kolby, a junior majoring in Human Resource Education from Marrero, LA.

Every year, thousands of parents and family members flood LSU’s campus to pay tribute to their students and our LSU Tigers in one massive weekend. This year, serving on the Family Weekend Student Committee, I had the chance to help plan that experience… And was it ever an experience.

My parents would always tell me as a kid “eat with your stomach, not with your eyes,” or “careful not to bite off more than you can chew.” You think, having had that repeated to me quite often, I would have learned a thing or two about not overdoing it, but I’ve come to the conclusion that life just wouldn’t be as interesting if you don’t make the most of your time! That’s why, when I got the chance to be a part of something that I’ve never been a part of, I jumped at the chance to apply for this committee.

When we were selected to work on the committee, we were each assigned a task and mine was the Jazz Brunch Slide Show. I could tell after sitting through the first meeting with other committee members, that it was going to become so much more than that. When spit-balling ideas, we decided that we wanted to add a social media aspect to the weekend, which added Twitter challenges and the SCVNGR trek to my workload.

After working diligently for two months, I can’t even describe the feeling I got when I walked into the Student Union on Friday, November 11th and watched the first family check in… it was a moment where all of the work that we’d put into the weekend, was finally coming to fruition.

Throughout the two days, you may have seen me taking photos, a task I truly enjoyed. The real work came when I skipped the game to work on the video that was played at the Jazz Brunch. At 10:00 PM on Saturday evening, I was half finished with the show, and dead tired. Deciding that it would probably be best for me to rest and not stay up the entire night, I set my alarm for 4:00 AM and went to bed. From 4:00 AM until 7:00 AM, I scrambled to complete the video on time and I can honestly say that I’m proud of what I produced.

Free food (I mean, come on, it is the STUDENT committee), good company, nice weather, and football all made for one heck of a weekend, but watching parents and families laugh and cheer when their photo appeared on the screen was truly the cherry on a phenomenal weekend.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Family Weekend Student Committee Speaks Up!

  1. Laura Suchman says:

    I appreciate all the hard work from the committee, it was a great weekend of events. I enjoyed the dinner and dessert social Friday night, as well as the tailgate luncheon and the LSU game. Unfortunately I procrastinated on buying the tickets for the game and got seats in the nosebleed section, I won’t be doing that again, way to many steps for my weary legs. Live and learn, for the next time. We did attend the Jazz Brunch, unfortunately we missed most of it, my daughter is in the Pre Vet club and had stadium cleanup. I did catch the photo slideshow and it was very nicely presented, my daughter’s boyfriend and I were caught eating dinner, before my LSU freshman daughter was finished with an exam. It was a great time and I would definitely attend again. thanks!! Laura Suchman

    • lsufamily says:

      Ms. Suchman, We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed the events you attended over Family Weekend and that you plan to attend next year! Be on the look-out over the Spring Semester for our Family Weekend dates for next fall!

Leave a Reply

