The Newest Addition to FYE!

Meet Karen Trice, a social work intern at LSU’s First Year Experience. 

Greetings from First Year Experience! I just wanted to take the time to formally introduce myself to the LSU Parent and Family community. My name is Karen Trice, and I am a social work intern working with First Year Experience to help out-of-state students in their transition to LSU. I received my undergraduate degree from LSU, and I am excited to share my experiences and my knowledge of campus resources to help make each student’s transition as smooth as possible.

I understand the transition into a university setting can be intimidating, especially for out-of-state students who face an additional set of challenges being away from family, friends, and even familiar landscapes. Here at FYE, we know all students have the potential to be successful in their transition if given the right tools, and we are here to provide the necessary support to help them effectively use those tools. I am very interested in getting to know your students and showing them how they are an integral part of the LSU experience.

If your student needs help adjusting to campus life, please feel free to refer them to FYE. I am located in 132 Johnston Hall, and my office hours are on Monday, Tuesday, and Friday from 8:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. Students are welcome to walk in or schedule an appointment by calling 225-578-1188 or emailing me at ktrice2@tigers.lsu.edu.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

