FYE Supports LSU Military Veterans

Meet Kai Williams, a social work intern at LSU’s First Year Experience. Kai received her bachelor’s degree from LSU in 2010 and is currently a graduate student in LSU School of Social Work. 

Greetings LSU Families,

As one of the newest members of the LSU First Year Experience (FYE) team, I would like to take this opportunity to introduce myself. I entered the field of social work because I want to create positive changes in the lives of people who need it the most. Working with FYE allows me to aid in delivering programming and connections to services and resources with the sole goal of helping your student succeed.

This semester I will be working closely with LSU military veteran students to enhance their campus experience academically and socially. I recognize that student veterans can face unique challenges when adjusting to college life, such as connecting with other students with similar life experiences and juggling the world of academia while working to support their respective branches. The work I do with veteran students is important to me because supporting their educational goals is a way of expressing the great appreciation and respect I have for their military service. My goal is to make their transition easier by offering events, workshops, and support groups, tailored to meet their specific needs.

If your veteran student needs help adjusting to campus life, please feel free to refer them to FYE. My office hours are 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Monday and Tuesday, and Friday from 10:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m in 132 Johnston Hall. Students are welcome to walk in or schedule an appointment by calling 225-578-1188 or emailing me at iwill15@tigers.lsu.edu.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,176 other followers

